Tuesday, March 26, 2019

Russiagate Skeptics

Below a list of journalists, commentators etc & media organizations who never succumbed to Russiagate --the conspiracy theory that the Trump campaign conspired with the Russian government to hack and distribute the DNC & Podesta emails-- and who remained rationally skeptical throughout.

The list is in somewhat random order, at least in the sense that if one person is ranked lower than another this does not necessarily mean they were a less good or a less important or impactful skeptic.

Also, the list only includes people who have produced some content on Russiagate --e.g. articles, podcast, extensive Twitter research--, who have at least 2,000 Twitter followers (when applicable), and who have been skeptical for more than a year.

Lastly, I've tried to exclude as much as possible rabid partisan hacks (think Sean Hannity) as well as people who see conspiracies everywhere (think Alex Jones), when their correct views on this topic were not the result of reasonable skepticism but more of the 'broken clock is right twice a day' kind. These are of course judgement calls on my part that people may reasonably disagree with.

Here's the list:



People
  1. Aaron Mate @aaronjmate
  2. Michael Tracey @mtracey
  3. Glenn Greenwald @ggreenwald
  4. The late Robert Parry @consortiumnews
  5. Scott Horton @scotthortonshow
  6. Stephen Cohen
  7. Richard Sakwa
  8. Gareth Porter @garethporter
  9. Julian Assange @julianassange
  10. Mollie Hemingway @mzhemingway
  11. Max Blumenthal @maxblumenthal
  12. Rand Paul @randpaul
  13. Ron Paul @ronpaul
  14. Kyle Kulinski @kylekulinski
  15. Robert Barnes @barnes_law
  16. Yasha Levine @yashalevine
  17. Daniel McAdams @daniellmcadams
  18. Stephen Kinzer @stephenkinzer
  19. Justin Raimondo @justinraimondo
  20. Caitlin Johnstone @caitoz
  21. Peter Hitchens @clarkemicah
  22. Thomas Woods @ThomasEWoods
  23. Patrick Buchanan @patrickbuchanan
  24. Stephen McIntyre @climateaudit
  25. Paul Jay @PaulJay_TRNN
  26. Jeffrey St. Clair @jsccounterpunch
  27. Justin Amash @justinamash
  28. Jimmy Dore @jimmydore
  29. Elizabeth Lea Vos @elizabethleavos
  30. Seymour Hersh @seymourhersh
  31. Noam Chomsky
  32. A. Tsygankov
  33. Dominic Basulto @DominicBasulto
  34. Patrick Lawrence @thefloutist
  35. Matt Taibbi @mtaibbi
  36. John Kiriakou @JohnKiriakou 
  37. Lee Camp @LeeCamp
  38. Philip Giraldi @philipgiraldi
  39. Oliver Stone @theoliverstone
  40. Will Porter @wkpancap
  41. Lucy Komisar @LucyKomisar
  42. Alex Krainer @NakedHedgie
  43. Mike Whitney
  44. Andrew Cockburn @andrewmcockburn
  45. David Stockman @DA_Stockman
  46. Tom Luongo @tfl1728
  47. Alan R. Macleod @AlanRMacLeod
  48. Joanne Leon @joanneleon
  49. Dan Wright @aroundtheempire
  50. Jim Kavanagh @ThePolemicist_
  51. Gregg Jarrett @GregJarrett
  52. Tim Shorrock @timothys
  53. Bryan MacDonald @27khv
  54. Andrew McCarthy @andrewcmccarthy
  55. Abbie Martin @AbbyMartin
  56. Robbie Martin @fluorescentgrey
  57. Tim Black @realtimblack
  58. Lou Dobbs @LouDobbs
  59. James Carden
  60. Norman Solomon @NormanSolomon
  61. Dana Rohrabacher @DanaRohrabacher
  62. Ray McGovern @raymcgovern
  63. Mary Dejevsky @marydejevsky
  64. ‘Moon of Alabama’ @moonofa
  65. Tucker Carlson @tuckercarlson
  66. Dan Cohen @DanCohen3000
  67. Katrina vandenHeuvel @KatrinaNation
  68. Lee Smith @LeeSmithDC
  69. Craig Murray @craigmurrayorg
  70. Scott Adams @ScottAdamsSays 
  71. Ali Abunimah @AliAbunimah
  72. Mark Ames @MarkAmesExiled 
  73. Margot Cleveland @ProfMJCleveland 
  74. Chris Hedges @ChrisLynnHedges 
  75. Kim Strassel @KimStrassel 
  76. John W. Huber @JohnWHuber
  77. Dan Bongino @dbongino
  78. John Solomon @jsolomonReports
  79. Chuck Ross @ChuckRossDC
  80. 'The Last Refuge' @TheLastRefuge2
  81. Devin Nunes @DevinNunes 
  82. Byron York @ByronYork 
  83. Sean Davis @seanmdav
  84. Veteran Intelligence Professionals for Sanity
  85. Rania Khalek @RaniaKhalek 
  86. George Szamuely @GeorgeSzamuely
  87. Ben Norton @BenjaminNorton
  88. Jordan Chariton @jordanchariton
  89. Patrick Lawrence @thefloutist
  90. Rosie memos @almostjingo
  91. @techno_fog
  92. Joe Lauria @unjoe
  93. Leonid Bershidsky @Bershidsky
  94. Neil Clark @NeilClark66
  95. Dennis Bernstein 
  96. Kevin Shipp @kevin_shipp
  97. Paul Craig Roberts 
  98. Tara McCormack @Mccormack_tara
  99. Adam Johnson @adamjohnsonnyc
  100. Jack Posobiec @JackPosobiec
  101. Jeff Carlson @themarketswork
  102. Walker Bragman @walkerbragman
  103. Mark McCarthy
  104. Sharyl Attkisson @SharylAttkisson
  105. Victor Davis Hanson @VDHanson
  106. The Saker https://thesaker.is/ 
  107. Jason Beale @jabeale
  108. Paul Sperry @paulsperry_ 
  109. Adam Carter @with_integrity 
  110. Mike Cernovich @Cernovich
  111. Sara Carter @SaraCarterDC
  112. Tom Fitton @TomFitton
  113. Katie Halper @kthalps 
  114. Luke Rosiak @lukerosiak
  115. Pat Lang 
  116. Kit Klarenberg @KitKlarenberg 
  117. Garland Nixon @GarlandNixon
  118. Lee Stranahan @stranahan 
  119. John Steppling @JohnSteppling
  120. Eoin Higgins @EoinHiggins_ 
  121. Brian Becker @BrianBeckerDC 
  122. Jeffrey Carr @JeffreyCarr
  123. Michael Krieger @libertyblitz 
  124. the late William Blum http://williamblum.org 
  125. Jeremy Scahill @jeremyscahill 
  126. Peter B. Collins http://peterbcollins.com 
  127. T. A. Frank @tafrank 
  128. Shannon @Avery1776
  129. Carroll Quigley @CarrollQuigley1
  130. E. C. Everett @ECEverett1
  131. 'Based Basterd' @BasedBasterd 
  132. Jenn @JennElizabethJ
  133. Rosie Memos @almostjingo
  134. 'Ghost of Daniel Parker' @SeekerOTL
  135. 'BenKTallmadge' @BenKTallmadge
  136. Brian Cates @drawandstrike
  137. Cassandra Fairbanks @CassandraRules
  138. An0maly @LegendaryEnergy
  139. Doug Johnson Hatlem @djjohnso
  140. Stef Zamorano @miserablelib
  141. Ron Placone @ronplacone
  142. Margaret Kimberley @freedomrideblog
  143. Glen Ford @glenfordbar
  144. Bruce Dixon @brucedixon 
  145. Tracy Beanz @tracybeanz 
  146. Ian56 @ian56789
  147. Gordon Dimmack @gordondimmack
  148. Bill Binney
  149. Gilbert Doctorow 
  150. Guy Mettan @GuyMettan
  151. Teodrose Fikre @TeodroseFikre 
  152. Piers Robinson @PiersRobinson1
  153. Pepe Escobar 
  154. Jack Matlock
  155. John J. Mearsheimer

Media Organizations
  1. Scott Horton Show 
  2. Consortium News 
  3. Around the Empire 
  4. The Jimmy Dore Show The Jimmy Dore Show
  5. Spiked 
  6. Citations Needed 
  7. The Real News 
  8. The Liberty Report 
  9. The Nation @TheNation
  10. Part of the Problem @comicdavesmith 
  11. AntiWar.com 
  12. The Federalist @FDRLST
  13. Wikileaks @wikileaks 
  14. American Conservative AmericanConservative.com
  15. The Unz Review Unz.com
  16. Naked Capitalism Naked Capitalism
  17. Zero Hedge Zero Hedge 
  18. Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting @FAIRMediaWatch
  19. Humanist Report @humanistreport
  20. LewRockwell.com 
  21. Counterpunch 
  22. Media Roots 
  23. The Grayzone @GrayzoneProject
  24. Crowdsource the Truth @csthetruth
  25. World Socialist Web Site 
  26. Foreign Policy Focus 
  27. Disobedient Media 
  28. CrossTalk @PLCROSSTALK 
  29. Black Agenda Report @blkagendareport 
  30. Unauthorized Disclosure 
  31. Mint Press News @mintpressnews
  32. 21st Century Wire @21WIRE



5 comments:

  1. i should be on there https://www.counterpunch.org/2017/03/06/have-you-now-or-have-you-ever-been-a-secret-agent-of-vladimir-putin/

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thanks for including me and the Black Agenda Report team. I respectfully request that you add Garland Nixon, @garlandnixon, co-host of Fault Lines on Sputnik. He definitely deserves to be included.
    Also, you may want to reconsider Paul Jay of The Real News. In general he has good politics and I like The Real News but he was on board the Russiagate train.
    Margaret Kimberley

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. added, thanks.

      re Paul Jay: he was maybe not as deeply skeptical and comprehensive as Aaron Mate, but I would not say he was on board of the Russiagate train, and has been expressing skepticism for over a year, although his skepticism seems to be focused on the whole climate of Russophobia and the New Cold War. He still is not sure the Russians interfered in the election and while he was open to the possibility there was collusion (and he mentions the Trump Tower meeting as an example of the Trump team being open to colluding with Russia) he emphasized there is not enough evidence at the moment. See eg https://therealnews.com/stories/russophobia-and-the-mueller-investigation

      Delete
    2. Thank you for adding Garland Nixon.

      Delete